dentistry in canada

Discussion in 'Dental PG MDS IQE MFDS ADC Exams' started by dr.dana, Apr 5, 2008.

1. dr.dana

dr.dana Guest

hi i,m a dentist from india,and would lijke to work in canada, i've alredy checked out the site and already downloaded the forms,for NDBE but i'm not clear about the IELTS score required to give this exam, and steps to be taken first. Please help. :cry:
  2. Can Dent

Can Dent Guest

dentistry in canada

Hello there,

I am a recent Canadian graduate from dental school (not an international student) and wanted to give you a few cautionary thoughts before you embarking on this journey.

I think that being a dentist in Canada is great and if you are well prepared then there is an opportunity for you. However, unfortunately I know of so many professionals (not just dentists) who have this idea of what working in Canada is like and become disappointed or disillusioned after spending a great deal of time, effort and money to get here and finding that their degrees are not recognized.

I graduated from the University of British Columbia with 10 "international students" who were already qualified dentists from outside of Canada and the US. I am not sure if you are aware but if you did not graduate from an accredited university in Canada or the US you will need to complete at least a two year program before being licensed in Canada. The approximate cost of these two years was in the neighborhood of ~$120,000 CAN depending on which university you attend. (I'm not sure how much it is now, but I doubt that it is less). I do not know how many people applied for these 10 positions at UBC each year but I do now that it is VERY competitive. There are entrance exams and an interview that count towards the admissions process.