SUGGESTIONS FOR PREPARATION&FEED BACK OF NOV 08 EXAM.

Discussion in 'Australian Medical Council (AMC) EXAM' started by Guest, Sep 10, 2008.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Can anyone please tell me how to prepare for the AMC exam? I guess it would all depend on your knowledge base first. I am an old goose, 1994 batch and haven't done much clinical work as I worked in Health Promotion. So after so many years I have decided to go for the exam. I sat for the test in July 2006. Studied questions from the past 5 yrs (2000 - 2005) and used mainly the pocket books + Murtagh + internet and failed for 8 marks. But now as you may all be aware questions are not repeated as much. So this time I am studying from the main books like Davidson, Harrisons etc. But it is time consuming. Also I work full time and have young kids. I would much appreciate if anyone can suggest how to go about the preparation in my situation. Time is my enemy as I work full time. What strategy would best work in my case? Does anyone have similar experience?
    Thanks
  2. shimmry

shimmry Guest

hi smh29, As u havnt been in touch wd the books for long is ofcourse disadvantegeous for ur exam.
    bt if u failed on the margin, means u hve already worked much for that, which will b useful for u in the furture attempt.
    n john murtajh is nt a pocket, its an important book which u hve done.. u can go through the txtbooks like Davidson, Harrisons etc, bt no need if ur concept is clear, u can juz use these for refernces.
    well, discussion is the main path for u to save time.I suggest what, is find a study partner or go for group discussions.hopfuly it will help u out.

regards.
    shimmry
  3. Guest

Guest Guest

Thanks a lot Shimmry for getting back to me. Yes you are right, I am disadvantaged. Unfortunately for me it is a bit hard to get hooked with a study partner as I work full time and week ends are harder for other people. So I pretty much do it on my own.
  4. Guest

Guest Guest